Uptown

So there I was uptown the other day. Well it’s not quite a town where I live, but that’s another story …
Many many people choose to experience this great country of ours in a 4WD. Great for exploring rough terrain in comfort. Most 4WD’s I see also have a caravan hitched to them. And I’d better be careful in case I start offending the grey nomads out there. Not that I’d mind really because many times there is a bank of traffic, a caravan or two is involved. Admittedly over the years many people towing caravans have become more conscious of the traffic behind them.

Honda ST1100 with Ozzie Flag graphics

Uber Touring in Australia

In my opinion, traffic awareness is the biggest contributing skill to motorcycle rider survival in this country. Some writers argue that crash statistics show high viz gear actually increases the likelihood of an accident with another vehicle. Go figure. But what about a high viz bike? I guess the moral of the story is don’t rely on other road users to treat us with respect! That’s something we’ll just have to give to each other. So, congrats to the owner of this Honda ST1100. It’s a pearler!

This entry was posted in Safety. Bookmark the permalink.